Birgeneau, Robert


Professor of Physics and Materials Science & Engineering

359 Birge Hall
UC Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720




1966     Ph.D. Yale University

Professional Experience:

1990-1997 Board of Trustees, Associated Universities, Inc.
1991-1994 DOE Basic Energy Science Advisory Committee
1992-2001 Board of Trustees, Boston Museum of Science
1992-2001 Board of Governors, Argonne National Laboratory
1995-2000 Advisory Council, NEC Research Institute
1995-2001 Sloan Foundation, Physics Fellow Selection Committee
1996 Chair BESAC Panel on Research Reactors
1997 Chair BESAC Panel on Synchrotron Radiation Sources & Science
1997-2000 Board of Trustees, Brookhaven Science Associates
1998-2004 Co-Chair, Polaroid Science and Technology Board
2000 Member, Oxford University, Physics Department, External Advisory Committee
2000-2004 Board of Trustees, URA
2002-2004 Chair, Visiting Committee, ETH Domain, Switzerland
2003 DOE Task Force on the Future of Science Programs
2004 Chair, Helmholtz Review Committee, Germany
2005-present Independent Citizens Oversight Committee (Stem Cells)
2009 Chair, Council of Presidents, Universities Research Association, Inc.
2011-2012 Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences Commission on the Humanities and Social Sciences


Major Awards:
Yale Science and Engineering Alumni Achievement Award, 1981
Wilbur Lucius Cross Medal, Yale University, June 1986
Morris Loeb Lecturer, Harvard University, 1986
Oliver E. Buckley Prize for Condensed Matter Physics, APS, 1987
Bertram Eugene Warren Award, ACA, 1988
Richtmyer Lecturer, AAPT, 1989
E.W. Guptill Lecturer, Dalhousie University, 1990
H.L. Welsh Lecturer, University of Toronto, 1994
Emilio Segré Distinguished Lecturer in Physics, Tel Aviv Univ., 1995
IUPAP Magnetism Award, 1997
APS Centennial Speaker, 1998-1999
A.W. Scott Lecturer, Cambridge University, 2000
J.E. Lilienfeld Award, APS, 2000
Tercentennial Lecturer, Yale University, 2001
Distinguished Alumnus Award, TCDSB, 2004
Fellow, American Physical Society
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1987
Fellow, Royal Society of London, 2001
Fellow, Institute of Physics, 2001
Fellow, Royal Society of Canada, 2002
Foreign Associate, National Academy of Sciences, 2004
Fellow, American Philosophical Society, 2006
Founders Award, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2006
Honorary Doctorate, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, 2007
Advisory Board, World Premier Research Center, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan, 2007
Lux Award, Level Playing Field Institute, San Francisco, CA 2007
Honorary Degree in Engineering, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado, 2007
Fellow, Neutron Scattering Society of America, 2008
Carnegie Corporation, 2008 Academic Leadership Award
Honorary Doctorate of Science, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada 2009
Shinnyo-en Foundation’s 2009 Pathfinders to Peace Prize
Clifford G. Shull Prize of the Neutron Scattering Society of America 2012