Alivisatos, A. Paul


Vice Chancellor for Research
Professor & Samsung Distinguished Chair in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Research
Department of Chemistry; Department of Materials Science and Engineering University of California, Berkeley

Faculty Senior Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Hildebrand Hall, D43A
Berkeley, CA. 94720-1460


Phone: 510-643-7371
Fax: 510-642-6911


Research Areas:

Prof. Paul Alivisatos’ research concerns the structural, thermodynamic, optical, and electrical properties of colloidal inorganic nanocrystals. He investigates the fundamental physical and chemical properties of nanocrystals and also works to develop practical applications of these new materials in biomedicine and renewable energy.


1986     Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, Chemistry

Professional Experience:

2016- Vice Chancellor for Research, University of California, Berkeley.

Senior Faculty Scientist, Materials Sciences Division, LBNL.

2013- Founding Director, Kavli Energy NanoScience Institute (ENSI), UC Berkeley/LBNL.
2009-2016 Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL).
2008- 2009 Deputy Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.
2005- 2009 Associate Laboratory Director for Physical Sciences, LBNL.
2003- 2008 Director, Materials Sciences Division, LBNL.
2001- 2005 Founding Director, Molecular Foundry, LBNL.
1999- Professor, Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, University of California,  Berkeley.
1998- 2001 Chancellor’s Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley.
1995- Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley.
1993- 1995 Associate Prof., Dept. of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley.
1988- 1993 Assistant Prof., Dept. of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley


Major Awards:

2016            Dan David Prize, Dan David Foundation

2016            National Medal of Science, National Science Foundation

2015            Spiers Memorial Award, Royal Society of Chemistry

2015            Axion Award, Hellenic American Professional Society

2014            Chemistry of Materials Award, American Chemical Society

2014            Commander of the Order of Honor, Hellenic Republic of Greece

2013            Samsung Distinguished Chair in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Res., UCB

2012            Special Achievement Award, Nanotechnology in Biomedicine

2012            NIKI Award, Greece

2012            Wolf Prize in Chemistry, the Wolf Foundation, Israel

2011            Von Hippel Award, highest award, Materials Research Society

2010            Inventor of the Year Award, Silicon Valley Intellectual Property Law Association

2010            Linus Pauling Medal, American Chemical Society

2009            Computation and Engineering’s Nanoscience Prize, International Society for Nanoscale Science

2009            R&D 100 Award, R&D Magazine

2008            Kavli Distinguished Lectureship in Nanoscience, Materials Research Society (MRS)

2007            Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award, US Department of Energy

2006            Rank Prize for Optoelectronics, the Rank Prize Optoelectronics Funds

2006            Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Chicago

2006            Larry and Diane Bock Chair in Nanotechnology

2006            Eni Award for Energy and Environment

2004            Colloid and Surface Chemistry Award, American Chemical Society (ACS)

2003            Technology Transfer Award, LBNL

2001-2002    Miller Professor, UCB

1998-2001    Chancellor’s Professor, University of California, Berkeley (UCB)

1997            Sustained Outstanding Research in Materials Chemistry Award, LBNL

1995            Outstanding Young Invest. Award, Materials Research Society (MRS)

1994            Coblentz Award for Molecular Spectroscopy, the Coblentz Society

1994            The Thomas J. Wilson Memorial Prize, Harvard University

1994            Outstanding Performance Award, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)

1991-1995    Presidential Young Investigator, National Science Foundation

1991-1992    Sloan Research Fellow, Alred P. Sloan Foundation

1991            Exxon Solid State Chemistry Fellow. American Chemical Society



2015            Elected, Corresponding Member, Academy of Athens

2015            Elected Member, The American Philosophical Society (APS)

2004            Elected Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS)

2004            Elected Member, The National Academy of Sciences (NAS)