Professor Junqiao Wu has been selected as a 2017-18 recipient of the Bakar Fellows Award!

Junqiao Wu has been selected as a 2017-18 recipient of the Bakar Fellows award at UC Berkeley.  The Bakar Fellows Program fosters faculty entrepreneurship in the STEM+ fields including Engineering, Computer Science, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Architecture. Bakar Fellows receive discretionary research support to help translate their discoveries into commercial solutions. More information about […]

Capstone Project in Prof. Xu’s Lab Highlighted

A Masters of Engineering team led by Prof. Xu has been working on new drug-delivery platforms to treat neurologic and brain-related diseases.  The work focuses on the development and commercialization of a nano-carrier designed to help transport drugs from the blood to the brain, and importantly through the Blood Brain Barrier (BBB).  The work was […]

Benson Jung wins best poster award at ACS


Benson Jung, working with Professor Ting Xu, received a “PMSE Best Poster Award” at the American Chemical Society (ACS) National Meeting in San Francisco.  The poster was selected under the category of the Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) division.  The poster was entitled “Structural Characterization of Three-Helix Micelle Delivery Platform for Neurological Disease Treatment” […]

Professor Healy leads Berkeley arm of C-DOCTOR

UC Berkeley is a partner in one of two newly established Resource Centers as part of the The National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research’s Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Tissue Regeneration Consortium (DOCTRC). Aimed at developing resources and strategies for regenerating dental, oral, and craniofacial tissues that have been damaged by disease or injury, the […]

Professor Gerbrand Ceder Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Gerbrand Ceder, Chancellor’s Professor in Materials Science and Engineering at UC Berkeley, and Senior Faculty Scientist in the Materials Sciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering “For the development of practical computational materials design and its application to the improvement of energy storage technology”. Election to […]

Eicke Weber Appointed Director and CEO of BEARS

Professor Eicke R. Weber was recently appointed as the Director and CEO of the Berkeley Education Alliance for Research in Singapore (BEARS).  Professor Weber returns to UC Berkeley after 10 years as director of the Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE, the largest solar energy research institute in Europe.  BEARS was launched in 2011 in […]

Professor Kevin Healy: Heart-On-A-Chip

The crew from Futurism visited Berkeley to learn more about the heart chip work in the Healy Lab. During their visit, the Healy Lab team showed Luke Robert Mason how they are combining cutting edge microfabrication techniques and stem cell biology to create human cardiac microphysiological systems that can be used as a drug-screening tool. […]

Congratulations to Professor Paul Alivisatos for receiving the 2017 NAS Award in Chemical Sciences!

Professor Paul is recognized for his pioneering work in the field of nanotechnology that has had important ramifications for the development of renewable energy, biomedical imaging, light-emitting devices, and other fields. The NAS Award in Chemical Sciences is presented annually to honor innovative research in the chemical sciences that contributes to a better understanding of […]

Wu group discovered a new mode of electron conduction in solids: decoupled charge and heat transport.

In metals, electrons carry both charge and heat. As a consequence, electrical conductivity and the electronic contribution to the thermal conductivity are typically proportional to each other. Prof. Junqiao Wu’s group and collaborators found a large violation of this so-called Wiedemann-Franz law near the insulator-metal transition in VO2 nanobeams. In the metallic phase, the electronic […]

Shilpa Raja Awarded High Honors by the Material Research Society

Congratulations to Shilpa Raja! Read more about the MRS Graduate Students Awards here.