“Springy” Domain Walls featured in Nature Materials

A collaborative effort between MSE at Berkeley, the National Center for Electron Microscopy (NCEM) at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences (CNMS) at Oak Ridge National Laboratory identifies a pathway to produce spring-like response in ferroelectric domain walls. The efforts, led by Joshua Agar and Anoop Damodaran in the group […]

MSE Alumna Nicole Michenfelder-Schauser Wins Hertz Fellowship

MSE Alumna and 2015 recipient of the MSE Department Citation has been named a winner of the prestigious Hertz Foundation Fellowship. A link to the award announcement can be found here.  The Hertz Foundation Fellowship is known as the most competitive PhD fellowship program in science and engineering in the United States. Nicole is one […]

Professor Birgeneau 2016 Recipient of the National Science Board’s Vannevar Bush Award

Bob Birgeneau, Chancellor Emeritus and Arnold and Barbara Silverman Distinguished Chair in the Departments of Physics, Materials Science and Engineering and Public Policy, has been selected the 2016 recipient of the National Science Board’s Vannevar Bush Award.  The award recognizes Professor Birgeneau’s “exceptional public service and scientific leadership – including lifelong, high caliber research committed […]

Mingxi Zheng Wins Second Place in Berkeley’s Grad Slam!

Congratulations to MSE student, Mingxi Zheng for winning second place in the Berkeley’s Grad Slam Championship! On March 28, ten Berkeley semi-finalists competed before a panel of distinguished judges for cash prizes and the honor of representing our campus in the UC-wide Grad Slam competition on April 22, 2016. Read more here!

Professor Yao named Bakar Fellow

Jie Yao has been selected as one of five new Bakar Fellows at UC Berkeley. The Bakar Fellows Program fosters faculty entrepreneurship in the STEM+ fields including Engineering, Computer Science, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Architecture. Bakar Fellows receive discretionary research support for a maximum of five years to help translate their ground-breaking discoveries […]

Professor Martin Wins the ACers Coble Award for Young Scholars

Professor Lane Martin is the recipient of the 2016 Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars from the American Ceramic Society (ACers).  The award recognizes young scholars, below 35 years of age, for outstanding contributions in ceramics research.  The award will be presented at the ACerS Honors and Awards Banquet at the 118th Annual Meeting […]