Allison Engstrom

Graduate Student Researcher
Department of Materials Science & Engineering
210 Hearst Memorial Mining Building
University of California Berkeley, CA, 94720

Educational Background
B.S. in Materials Science and Engineering at Arizona State University (2008)
M.S. in Materials Science and Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley (2010)

Research Interest
Alli’s research involves the electrochemical synthesis and characterization of electrodeposited vanadium oxide electrochemical capacitor electrodes.  Among the research objectives are the degradation mechanisms in aqueous environments, the optimization of aqueous and nonaqueous electrolytes as well as the cycle behavior of whole-cell systems.

Publications, Patents and Conference Talks
A. M. Engstrom, F. M. Doyle, Exploring the Cycle Behavior of Electrodeposited Vanadium Oxide Supercapacitor Electrodes in Various Aqueous Environments, ECS PRIME Meeting, Honolulu, HI (2012) poster.

F. M. Doyle, A. M. Engstrom, Electrochemical Synthesis of Nanostructured Vanadium Oxides for Use as Supercapacitor Electrodes, TMS Meeting, Orlando, FL (2012) presentation.

A. M. Engstrom, E. Lim, J. A. Reimer, E. J. Cairns, Kinetics of COads Oxidation on Pt Black, ECS Fall Meeting, Boston, MA (2011) presentation. 

E. L. Engstrom, A. M. Engstrom, C. Friesen, Tri-Continuous Manganese Oxide Electrodes Demonstrating Ultra-High Capacity, ECS Spring Meeting, Montreal, Canada (2011) presentation.

Friesen, C. A., Engstrom, A. M., Engstrom, E. L., Hayes, J. R., Electrode For a Charge Storage Device and Method of Manufacture. Arizona Board of Regents for and on behalf of Arizona State University, assignee. U.S. Patent Application 20100243459. 29 March 2010.

J. R. Hayes, A. M. Engstrom and C. Friesen, "Orthogonal flow membraneless fuel cell" J. Power Sources 182 (2008) 257-259.

Highlighted Awards and Activities
ECS San Francisco Section Daniel Cubicciotti Award (2012)
NSF Graduate Research Fellow  (2008 – Present)
Chancellor’s Fellow, UC Berkeley  (2008 – 2010)
Outstanding Graduate, Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering  (2008)
Goldwater Scholar  (2007 – 2008)
Presidential Scholar, ASU  (2004 – 2008)